Best Foot Forward Europe Tour

After almost 1,5 years of pause we were finally able to kick off the new event summer with the Best Foot Forward Europe Tour! The 10 tour stops throughout the whole summer, were more than just a full success! On the 2nd of October 2021 it was time for the Best Foot Forward European Finals!

Since 2007 Zumiez has been looking for the best and most promising amateur skateboarders to offer them a stepping stone into their professional career. In 2017 the Amateur Skateboard Tour Best Foot Forward made its first stop in Europe together with Blue Tomato. Finally it was possible to have a tour throughout Europe again! The best 3 skaters and the best female skater of each stop were invited to the European final in Innsbruck.

Best Foot Forward European Finals

After 10 amazing stopps, with more than 500 skaters from 21 different countries, Best Foot Forward will be in Innsbruck for the BIG FINALS. On the 02.10.2021 the 40 best skaters from 13 countries will come together & show why they have a spot in the European Finals!

Finals Innsbruck - 01.10 - 02.10.2021

Friday - 01.10.2021

On Friday morning,1st of October, a photo and video session on the legendary Landhaus Plaza was on the schedule. In the afternoon it was time to go to the Markt Plaza. There, a mini ramp was set up especially for the riders to provide them with unique footage and memories of Innsbruck. In the evening, the day culminated in a massive Cash for Tricks session in the Mini Ramp.

The more than 40 skaters definitely showed why they deserve to be in the finals in Innsbruck. Technical tricks were combined with a lot of style. You can find photo material from both sessions under the following links:

Photo Session Landhaus Plaza

Photo Session + Cash for Tricks Session Mini Ramp at Markt Plaza

Recap clip for download

Saturday - 02.10.2021

Yesterday (2nd Oct.), the biggest European AM Skate Contest Tour culminated with the Grande Finale in Innsbruck. 42 skaters (including 11 girls) competed for the title, prize money (Men & Women: 1st place 1000 €, 2nd place 750 € & 3rd place 500€) and a once in a lifetime chance to win the STS Skate sponsored winner trip to California.

We expected a high level of skateboarding, but what the boys and girls delivered exceeded even our expectations! The hall was on fire, and outside in the Brand Village, the vibes were great. The action from the skate hall could be followed live on the huge LED screen outside! It was a celebration of the skateboard scene and an absolute blast.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Martin Atanasov- @martin_sk8atnsv
2nd place: Lenni Pfeiffer - @lennipfeiffer
3rd place: Santino Exenberger - @santinoexenberger

Women:
1st place: Liv Broder - @liv.broder
2nd place: Julia Placek - @july.sk8
3rd place: Jeromine Louvet - @jeromine.louvet

Check out the Recap Clip:

Full Recap Clip:

Rewatch our Livestream here:

QUALIFICATION RECAPS

Recap of the past qualificationTour Stopps:

1st stop: 29th of May 2021, Hamburg, TSG Bergedorf
2nd stop: 19th of June 2021, Helsinki, Micropolis Skatepark
3rd stop: 3rd of July 2021, Berlin, Skatehalle Berlin
4th stop: 10th of July 2021, Maribor, Maribor Skatepark
5th stop: 17th of July, Utrecht, Skatepark Utrecht
6th stop: 7th of August, Innsbruck, Skatehalle Innsbruck
7th stop: 14th of August, Düsseldorf, Skatepark Eller
8th stop: 21st of August, Lens, Alaia Chalet
9th stop: 4th of September, Wels, Skatehalle Wels
10th stop: 18th of September, Ulm, Reithalle Ulm

Hamburg - 29.05.2021:

The first Best Foot Forward Europe Tour stop took place on 29th of may in Hamburg at the skatepark Allerfornia (@allerfornia). The vibes were great, the sun was shining and the skaters destroyed the park in every possible way. Highlight of the day was the Surprise Session at the end of the contest by Solo Skatemag (@soloskatemag) at the mobile tribune and the gap session.

Podium

Best Women
Liv Broder (@liv.broder)

Men
1st place: Jan Hirt (@janhirt_)
2nd place: Mika Möller (@mikachu.03)
3rd place: Woody Hoogendijk (@woodyhdijk)

Helsinki - 19.06.2021:

The second stop of the Best Foot Forward Europe Tour took place in beautiful Finland for the first time! The contest went down in Helsinki at the famous Micropolis skate park (Elaintarhan Skeittipuisto).30 degrees, sun, great vibes and good music made this contest to a very special one! During the surprise session by Hangup Magazine at the pyramide all participants got creative and received some nice goodies and cash4tricks. Big thanks to the local crew of the Skate Container (Skeitti Kontti) that helped out to make this day possible.

Podium

Men
1st place: Briston Basola (@brixi.boo) & Aapo Olero (@aapo.olervo)
3rd place: Jaakko Pesonen (@jaakkoaleksipesonen)

Berlin - 03.07.2021:

The third stop of theBest Foot Forward Europe Tour took place in Berlin in the Skatehalle Berlin. Due to the great cooperation with the local crew 74 skaters were able to compete in the contest. In addition to that many spectators came and followed the contest by watching the live stream at the skate yard. You can rewatch the live stream on our Youtube Channel.

Another highlight of the day was the surprise Session by Solo Skatemag. Skaters could earn some cash for tricks by going full speed on the flatrail and curb – fast money for fast tricks.

Podium

Men
1st place: Sascha Scharf (@saschascharfesoße)
2nd place: Dominic Wenzel - (@dominicwenzel)
3rd place: Deo Katunga - (@deolegotoy)

Women
1st place: Liv Broder - (@liv.broder)
2nd place : Julia Kühne - (@chuuuules)
3rd place: Alisa Fessl- (@alisa.fessl)


Maribor - 10.07.2021:

The fourth stop of the Best Foot Forward Europe Tour took place in Maribor for the first time ever. With skaters from 8 nations we had the most international riders field in the history of Best Foot Forward in Europe. We are more than happy to set up the contest with the Skatepark Maribor crew. Due to the great cooperation with the locals, we were able to welcome 60 skatersto the contest. Even though the sun was burning, it did not prevent the skaters from destroying the park.

Another highlight of the day was the surprise Session hosted by the Skatepark Maribor Crew at the big stairset. All skaters were able to show off some tricks and earn some cash.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Martin Atanasov- @martin_sk8atnsv
2nd place: Luca Bozic - @lukabozicek
3rd place: Kaloian Trenkov - @kaloian_trenkov

Women:
1st place: Hana Terrell - @hanabellask8
2nd place : Rajana Spiljak - @asfaltina_betonovic
3rd place: Sara Pusnikl - @sara__pusnik

Utrecht - 17.07.2021:

The fifth stop of the Tour took place in Utrecht. The Crew from the Skatepark Utrecht made this day a success despite the stricter COVID restrictions in the Netherlands. We are happy that we could provide a safe & fun skate contest for everybody. It was the very first skate contest in the Netherlands in a year! Small but impressive: A total of 24 skaters showed what they can do best – skateboarding.

Another highlight of the day was the surprise Session hosted by nobody less than Flatspot Magazine on the A-Frame & on the big wall. All skaters were able to show off some tricks and get some cash & nice goodies.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Djai Marchen @djai_marcchena
2nd place: Daniel Moragues @danielmoragues.sb
3rd place: Teun Janssen @teunis_janssen

Women:
1st place: Noor Crevels @sk8noor
2nd place : Ulrich Adcocks @florenceskate4
3rd place: Lotte Ket

Innsbruck - 07.08.2021:

The sixth stop took us to the heart of the alps- the beautiful City Innsbruck. The contest went down with 27 participants and some thrilled spectators in the Skatehalle Innsbruck, which is also known beyond the borders of Austria.

One highlight of the stop was definitely the surprise session hosted by Irregular Skateboard Magazin which was the most creative one so far. The skaters showed their best tricks over a water-filled swimming pool & got some cash4tricks.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Fabian Trojer - @fabian_trojer
2nd place: Marcell Dessewffy - @marcelldessewffy
3rd place: Kris Havaux - @youngkris

Women:
1st place: Alisa Fessl - @alisiafessl
2nd place: Simone Kirchebner - @zimoneinyahood
3rd place: Nadja Scherer - @nadia_scherer

Düsseldorf - 14.08.2021:

The seventh Blue Tomato x Zumiez Best Foot Forward Europe stop took place in Düsseldorf. In Germany's largest skatepark, the Skatepark Eller, a total of 86 skaters met to take part in the contest. This is a new tour record!

A highlight of the stop was the Surprise Session hosted by Flatspot Magazine. There was cash and goodies for the most creative and hardest tricks at the centerpiece.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Bert Wilmink - @bertwilmink
2nd place: Pasquale Zollino - @zollinokino
3rd place: Diego Broest - @diegobroest_

Women:
1st place: Emma Fink - @miss.skatee
2nd place: Julia Schmidt - @julia.sdt
3rd place: Florence Ulrich Adcocks - @flosk8berlin

Alaia Chalet - 21.08.2021:

The eighth Blue Tomato x Zumiez Best Foot Forward Europe stop took place last Saturday at Alaia Chalet in Lens, Switzerland.

Surrounded by the majestic Swiss Alps, in the canton of Valais, the contest at Alaia Chalet was a very special one.

A total of 42 participants from Germany, Spain, Italy, France and Switzerland gathered to show their best skills and tricks.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Rafa Bocanegra - @rafa.bocanegra
2nd place: Simon Perrotet - @_simonperrottet
3rd place: Kai Naumann - @kai_naumann_

Women:
1st place: Zoe Fabienne Van Essen - @zoeskategirl
2nd place: Nanou Flashes - @nanou_flashes
3rd place: Carmen Savioz

Wels - 04.09.2021:

The ninth and penultimate tour stop of the Blue Tomato x Zumiez Best Foot Forward Europe Tour took place last Saturday in the Skatehall Wels, Austria.

A total of 34 riders from all around Austria and Germany came together to show their best tricks.

In addition, there were Goodies & Cash 4 tricks presented by the Wels skate club at the end of the day.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Levi Loeffelberger - @levi.loeffelberger
2nd place: Anton Wessely - @anton.wessely
3rd place: Lenni Pfeiffer - @lennipfeiffer

Women:
1st place: Nadia Scherer - @nadia_scherer

Ulm - 18.09.2021:

The tenth and last stop of the Blue Tomato Best Foot Forward Europe Tour took place on Saturday, 18.09.21 at Reithalle Ulm, Germany

And just as awesome as the tour started, it ended. 46 riders showed their best at the last stop to qualify for the final in Innsbruck.

But not only the contest was a success, also the surprise session hosted by Reithalle Ulm was a fitting end to an awesome tour. One of the most creative surprise sessions so far - a powerslide contest over the wet miniramp.

Podium:

Men:
1st place: Tobias Wassermann - @__waterman__
2nd place: Simon Deprez - @simondeprez
3rd place: Andreas Sußbauer - @inlovewithskateboarding

Women:
1st place: Fiona Wessely - @fiona.wessely
2nd place: Catherine Marquis - @yung_k_t
3rd place: Luna Silva Pennetti - @luna_silva_pennetti